Question: Should Challenge TV be showing Zema Ion v Jesse Sorensen in their UK Against All Odds broadcast?

I just put the TV on to Challenge TV to watch the Impact Against All Odds pay-per-view.

And then I turned it off again.

You see, I knew that Zema Ion v Jesse Sorensen was the first match on the card for a number one contender’s slot in the X-Division.

But I also know how that match finishes. And so does every other wrestling fan in the UK.

Do we really need to see it? I don’t think so. It’s at the start of the show. It lifts right out (as Rachel said to Phoebe about their Friends-hip group).

Of course, I could be being harsh on the broadcaster here – it’s possible that they’re not going to show the end of the match. [Edit: I’m told that they didn’t actually show the spot itself, although they did apparently show the aftermath.] But then I’m not going to know, because there is no way I am even going to risk the chance that I am going to watch a man break his neck on my television.

What do you think?

4 Responses to Question: Should Challenge TV be showing Zema Ion v Jesse Sorensen in their UK Against All Odds broadcast?

  1. Mike says:

    “No doubt about it, interesting start here at Against All Odds” says the commentary team.

    Heartbreaking, more like. No one wants to see anyone getting hurt like that.

    • Carrie says:

      I just commented on Twitter that I’ve seen awful injuries being shown on the news, but they usually precede it with a warning so you can look away because seeing another human being seriously hurt is traumatic. Showing Ion-Sorensen like that is offering it up for our entertainment.

    • Carrie says:

      I also sort of still feel that even if they edited out the spot itself, showing the match itself is still a bit macabre. But I’m not sure why I feel like that.

  2. […] saw it last week, when Jesse Sorensen broke his neck in his match against Zema Ion at the start of the Against All Odds […]

Leave a Reply

