Interview: Nathan Cruz talks Progress, Marty Scurll and Rampage Brown

Well, first of all, congrats on becoming the first Progress Wrestling champ and getting your hands on that peculiar staff…how did you enjoy the first-ever Progress show, and particularly that epic main event?

The show was amazing. It’s the first time I’ve had the chance to really perform in front of an audience like that, and I truly loved it. The main event was something I’m very proud of. I’ve always wanted to get the chance to do a big match situation with Marty as I knew it would be something special and it truly was.

As far as the re-match goes [at Progress: Chapter Two], I can’t wait. Marty is a fantastic wrestler and I know he’ll push me again. And with it being two out of three falls, it’s just even more promising for a great match.

Who do you most admire or look up to in UK wrestling?

Rampage Brown. To me, he is the best we have. Incredible work rate, no ego and looks the part. The fact he was signed to WWE then left after eight months because he felt his love for wrestling slip speaks volumes about his passion.

Who are your favourite opponents to work with?

El Ligero, we’ve worked against each other so many times that it just becomes fun to get in there and batter each other.

Is there anyone you’d like to work with in the UK that you haven’t yet?

I’d love to do a big match situation with Mark Haskins, Robbie Dynamite or Mikey Whiplash. All of them are extremely talented and I feel I could learn a lot from the match.

Photo credit: Tony Knox

Nathan Cruz’s next appearances are as follows:

NGW – Eastmount Centre, Hull (April 21st)

All-Star – Gordon Craig Theatre, Stevenage (April 22nd)

He’ll also be appearing for All-Star on all their events for the rest of the year, and defending his title at Progress: Chapter Two on Sunday June 24th.

Leave a Reply

